Talk

Advanced search

to have got a bit cross with bloody mother? Long and self indulgent.

(15 Posts)
EccentricaGallumbits Wed 08-Jul-09 18:02:13

Am utterly pissed off.

mother has organised a family gathering for a weekend in August. I told her specifically that was the only weekend in the summer that we (my family) will be together and the only weekend in the summer holidays we could go away (camping). I'm not getting any time off until september and the DDs ar eback at school. I work silly hours. I work

unlike all my siblings. who all get decent holidays. don't have to work weekends and do get to spend time with their families.

weekends. I am also a student and we are poor. I told her we couldn't do that weekend. I offered 3 alternative weekends we could do in July or September.

Bloody mother has put a snotty note through my letterbox asking if I can change my weekend away because 'It's only camping and [siblings] can't make any other weekend because they are all so busy and hard working.'

she does this all the bloody time.
I'm sure they are all busy but I am too.

I am fed up with feeling like I have to be the one who has to change my plans, change my working hours (considerable hassle), make sure I'm the one who has to accommodate everybody else.

So when I told her she said 'oh it's just camping, you can go any time'.

I have made a stand.

I told her that she wouldn't expect my precious siblings to cancel their fancypants foreign jaunts and I couldn't change mine (2 piddling little nights in a tent). And pointed out for the millionth time that as I am the only one in the extended family who has to work weeknds and nights it shouldn't always be me who has to rearrange my life for everyone else.

she was surprised. I don't usually get cross. I usually change my plans for an easy life.
So now I'm feeling guilty. was it unreasonable for me to refuse to change? although impossible for us to have a different weekend away.

Tamarto Wed 08-Jul-09 18:05:11