Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To worry about this and not to want to go to work?

(9 Posts)
NervousTeacherNamechanged Fri 12-Jun-09 22:07:24

I work as a teacher in a school and am 11 weeks pregnant. I haven't been in for the last few days due to illness but on the last day I was in I got the news that the 2 schools nearest to us (literally, walking distance) were closing because of cases of swine flu. That is bad enough, but the families at our school are often the same ones as at the other schools (lots of children in our school have siblings who go to the other school, and they all see each other outside of school.

I am very frightened anyway in this pregnancy. It's a high risk pregnancy and my first baby was stillborn. Our school isn't closed yet - they can't until there's at least one case of swine flu apparently. But it all seems just too close for comfort.

Am I being unreasonable not to want to put myself at risk?

nancy75 Fri 12-Jun-09 22:15:50

given your history i would be worried too. i know that the likelyhood of you catching it is fairly low, but i can imagine in your position that is little consolation. does the school know that you are pregnant?
is there anyone at the school you could talk to about it? maybe take a leave of absence (not sure how this works for teachers, i know they probably wouldnt be over the moon about it)
i dont think i have been much help, but didnt want to leave your post unanswered.

hester Fri 12-Jun-09 22:16:12

Get medical advice. Follow it. Keep calm: nobody has died of swine flu in the UK, and it's going to get everywhere.

5inthebed Fri 12-Jun-09 22:16:47