Talk

Advanced search

To hate and despise balloons with a passion!

(13 Posts)
Pheebe Fri 12-Jun-09 13:15:34

Yes its probably trival but I have decided I absolutely hate the farking things. Everywhere we go we seem to get offered balloons which then send the kids hyper, they start hitting each other and me with them, then they pop and scare them and it all ends in tears.

I hate being hit with them, it absolutely infuriates me which I know is OTT but it does.

I try and minimise the damage and DS1 knows if he wants to keep a ballon he needs to keep it away from me.

Am I the only one???

DaveTheBloke Fri 12-Jun-09 13:18:28

no. they go right through me. can't breath wen they're about.

JoPie Fri 12-Jun-09 13:21:44

My mam was totally phobic about balloons, went mental if you brought one near her. I don't think its that uncommon.

laloue Fri 12-Jun-09 13:21:44

likewise...can't breathe and i work in a shop where we hand them out

moonmother Fri 12-Jun-09 13:24:39

I'm allergic to them(well latex), so can't have them in the house...so my Dc's know never to ask for them. grin

Luckily they don't seem to have worked out yet , that they could have the foil ones, as they wouldn't affect me.

Bucharest Fri 12-Jun-09 13:29:10

Oh, I thought it was just me! I hate them. Hate the bloody things. Hate the noise, the feel, the whole when-is-this-bloody-great-sqwodgy-thing-going-to-explode-on-me.

When dd gets one from a party, they have a habit of disappearing......a phantom balloon thief must let them out of the kitchen window in the night. blush

happywomble Fri 12-Jun-09 13:30:36

I don't like them but do put a few up for my childrens parties. I make sure they are tied to the ceiling as some children get very frightened when they pop.

I hate it when mass balloon releases are organised like in the madeleine campaign due to the environmental impact.

Callisto Fri 12-Jun-09 13:40:40

Balloons kill turtles. I hate them too (unless they are the eco-friendly biodegradable ones).