Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To stop DD1 age 8 from coming to her little sisters birthday party tomorrow?

(87 Posts)
J2O Sat 04-Oct-08 09:41:05

She has been getting up in a morning and taking sweets from the top of the fridge, she has already been grounded for this and knows in no uncertain terms that she is not allowed to get anything in a morning until i come down, especially things like that.
I'm doing dd2 a 1st birthday party tomorrow, dd1 is usually at her dads all day Sunday, but i said she can come home early for it, in fact ex ils are also supposed to be coming too.
Anyway i get up this morning, and she has been eating the little chocolate toppings that are to go on top of the cake, and i am so angry with her, i have told her she isn't allowed to come to the party now.
The thing is she is already overweight, which i have been fighting with for a couple of years now, mainly when she goes to her dads and his parents as they still feed her rubbish (thats another story) but i am so sick of worrying about it and there being a battle of wills between myself and her and them over it.

So...am i being unreasonable to stop her from coming? and if not, how do i tell the exILs without seeming as though I'm being petty?

bubblagirl Sat 04-Oct-08 09:45:44

i think she should be allowed to come to her sisters b day oarty but a fave toy should be taken away not fair to stop her coming to her own sisters party for eating sweets she is family after all

i would ban a toy or tv

if you cant trust her around these foods you really should have them somewhere where she cannot possibly reach them and leave raisins or such things laying around as clearly hungry and grabbing first thing when she gets up leave her some breakfast out and hide away any foods she shouldnt have

let her enjoy family time with you and her sis this is a big thing and to be left out would be heart breaking and could ruin there bond