Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

to take dd out of school for 6 weeks if

(50 Posts)
badmummygoodmummy Fri 19-Sep-08 11:28:43

ok have name changed as someone at school knows my old sign in name lol.

Have been offered the chance to go to Sweden for 6 weeks paid for but dd in yr 1 of school.

WIBU to take dd out of school for that period and take her, obv would educate her myself during that period to some extent as I am a ex teacher.

What do you think?

hanaflower Fri 19-Sep-08 11:35:42

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

pgwithnumber3 Fri 19-Sep-08 11:37:30

If you are willing to teach her then have a word with her teacher and see what work they will be covering and you can go through it with whilst you were there. Go for it, you only live once. grin

juuule Fri 19-Sep-08 11:37:33

Yanbu. It would be a great experience for her.

Overmydeadbody Fri 19-Sep-08 11:38:45

yanbu

I would do this, in an instant.

Anna8888 Fri 19-Sep-08 11:39:01

Yes, fab experience for both of you. Does your DD write a little? You could suggest she wrote a daily email to her class (with your help) about her experiences - one sentence with a photo would do - so she can stay in touch and the class can benefit from her experience.

MamaG Fri 19-Sep-08 11:40:33

wot everybody else said

kama Fri 19-Sep-08 11:45:40

Message withdrawn

badmummygoodmummy Fri 19-Sep-08 11:49:29

I was expecting loads of messages saying you selfish mummy lol.

Yes DD can write, havent mentioned anything to school yet because head is a nightmare and I am working my way up to that one!

forevercleaning Fri 19-Sep-08 11:56:21

go for it. A wonderful opportunity and experience.

LilRedWG Fri 19-Sep-08 11:57:46

Do it - wonderful life experience. As long as you keep her up-to-date with her class mates, I see no problem.

Lucky you!

PuppyMonkey Fri 19-Sep-08 11:58:18

Course you should do it. What's she going to miss in Year One - quantum physics?? grin

LilRedWG Fri 19-Sep-08 11:58:49