Talk

Advanced search

To want to smack HARD the woman who told me it's not I'm REALLY going back to FT since I'm ONLY a teacher...

(213 Posts)
Caz10 Wed 13-Aug-08 21:18:51

(Ok should preface this by saying I am going back to work tomorrow leaving my 8mth PFB DD behind, I'm tired and hormonal and very upset about the whole thing...grin)...

But I am genuinely concerned as to how I will manage the workload of marking etc when I have a non-sleeping baby and therefore not much free time in the evening, and I know I used to have a good couple of hours to do most nights, and that was before I was trying to rush home early to see DD!

Dreading every aspect of going back to work and can't stop crying.

Then met someone I vaguely know through the baby clinic, who works 2 days a week in a job that stops the minute she walks out of her office door, and mentioned in passing that I was dreading going back tomorrow.

Says she - "oh but you're a teacher aren't you, so it's not like you really work full time, you can hardly call it a proper full time job"....angry

I will freely admit our holidays are wonderful, but I also know the term time will be hellish...

Cow. sad

nametaken Wed 13-Aug-08 21:21:25

Hmmmmm, if teachers work full time, how come I've never once seen one of their kids in an out-of-school club.

msdemeanor Wed 13-Aug-08 21:22:12

Is that really exactly what she said? Is it not possible that she was trying to be reassuring, to say, you won't be away from your dd as much as if you were in another job with only five weeks' holiday? She doesn't know how upset you are. I am sorry btw. I was also very sad to be going back to work, but really it wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I don't think she was dissing your job, just trying to say that you would still see quite a bit of your baby.

KatieDD Wed 13-Aug-08 21:22:49

PMSL I can't say I disagree with her tbh

nametaken Wed 13-Aug-08 21:23:04