Page 5 | To buy the same item as a close friend?

(390 Posts)
lucyli Mon 23-Aug-21 05:53:56

Firstly I apologise that this is the epitome of a first world problem. I acknowledge I am fortunate to have this problem and that there are many bigger things to worry about.

I have decided to make a high-end purchase from a well-known brand. I've never done this before but am at the stage in my life where I would like to do so.

I spend a long while researching, chose what I wanted and planned to head to the shops in a few days.

Was just chatting to a close friend and it turns out she has the exact same item and is annoyed that I'd buy the same and said she'd rather I didn't. I wasn't aware of this before.

I struggle to understand this mentality as it's not something that would concern me at all the other way around.

Her argument is that she didn't spend all that money, just to have someone close to her have the exact same item.

AIBU to buy it anyway? I was so pleased with the idea of having it and was excited to buy it.

OP’s posts: |
Carycy Mon 23-Aug-21 08:17:07

To be honest I just associate LV with a certain type of tourist and fakes. V tacky. Why not go for a more exclusive brand?
Recently discovered a gorgeous brand called Smaak Amsterdam. Truly beautiful bags. No big in your face design.

Lightisnotwhite Mon 23-Aug-21 08:17:30

Hugoslavia