Talk

Advanced search

AIBU about filling in a section 17 form?

(18 Posts)
UndertheCedartree Tue 23-Jun-20 21:51:08

@tatianatisling - well yes, I have been doing! But I refer to it as 'arse covering' because nurses fill it in as quickly as possible not even reading it often when the patient isn't even there. And I'm a nurse so I know all about tick box exercises! But yes my legal right is to leave the ward when I want with no need to seek sec 17 leave. This is one of the things that encourage patients to become informal. When you've been in hospital for a year plus little things really do make a massive difference.

OP’s posts: |
TitianaTitsling Tue 23-Jun-20 21:05:19

@letmethinkaboutitfornow - so anyone in a psych ward should just put up and shut up even when their legal rights are being eroded? Well that's a tad dramatic. If you are so free to leave and you see staff input as 'arse covering' why not do so?

UndertheCedartree Tue 23-Jun-20 20:50:44

@dottycat - yes, it is something they use beyond the form filled in by the consultant. And yes, of course if they feel an informal patient is at risk then a sec 5 can be used.

dottycat123 Tue 23-Jun-20 20:42:14

It must be a local policy, if it is the same as a 'normal ' section 17 form then it has to be completed by the responsible clinician and is a legal document. It might be something the hospital has devised around shared risk but seems odd. As an informal patient you can say you want to leave at any point but if there were sufficient concerns you could be prevented from going by use of a section 5/4 and then further assessment.

UndertheCedartree Tue 23-Jun-20 20:36:10

@acquiescence - I know it doesn't sound like much but when your freedom is already very curtailed and you work so hard to get to a point where you don't need sec 17 then it can feel a big deal. Even if an incident had occured (it hasn't) - blanket policies aren't allowed it has to be per patient individually.