Talk

Advanced search

Family member pregnant aibu not to employ her (details to follow).

(130 Posts)
Stanzasranza Sat 23-May-20 09:35:59

I need someone to help me in my small (side) business - basically to accept deliveries/package deliveries/take to post office etc as it’s too time consuming and my time could be better spent doing other things in the business.

These deliveries/parcels are heavy - would be expected to carry heavy boxes at least 6/8 times a day as well as driving to the clients to do potential set up/collection. Not my job but similar: fixing large office printers - I’ll do the fixing while I need someone to collect/deliver/set up as I’ve spent at least 10 years perfecting my trade/experience and not in the position to pay for similar experience. I’m looking at employing someone maybe 12 hours a week split however they want to either over 2/3/4 days - in mind I had either a college/uni student to fit around their studies with a bit more overtime when I’m able to accept more work as I’m not driving over the place.

I mentioned this to a family member in passing and he’s rang me up to tell me that his girlfriend is willing to start whenever I’m ready and when I said that I wouldn’t feel comfortable letting her lift the boxes from the car to the trolley he said that I’d need to support her with the lifting (therefore I’d also need to go in the car with her) and then I might as well do it myself. He’s rang my partner today (it’s my business but he’s probably more friendly with my partner) asking him to talk to me to see what we can do to accommodate her as he doesn’t want his GF lifting but feels ‘we should keep it in the family’.

AIBU to think he’s bit of a CF?

KitKatKit Sat 23-May-20 09:40:05

YANBU. I'm pregnant and wouldn't expect to begin this kind of work now.
I think it would be different if she had been in the job pre pregnancy, as I would then say "you need to make reasonable adjustments so she can continue to do her work".