Talk

Advanced search

Struggling for money - what can I do?

(54 Posts)
VodkaCranberry2 Fri 22-May-20 16:18:21

I am really, really struggling for money now and am in personal debt with my overdraft and a small loan I took out last year (I’ve never missed a payment for it, had to restart all over after a bad breakup). I’ve just had a baby and have been on maternity for the past 5 months due to having to start it early as I wasn’t very well throughout. I’m on reduced maternity pay at £148 a week, but my rent alone is £950.

My partner works but is at uni so only works part time on the days he’s not studying, he finishes his degree this year.

I’ve been surviving on savings I managed to save at the start of my pregnancy, so I’ve been able to pay three months rent without worrying and now have one months left.

I’m a journalist, I was self-employed from 2015-2017 doing freelance and then got taken on as ‘casual staff’ doing 5 days a week at a national. But because I was doing my tax through them for that year and not self assessment, I don’t qualify for the self employment grant.

I’m now ending maternity after 6 weeks since giving birth because I just can’t cope on this pay. I’m going back freelance as I can no longer do the 5 days a week due to having a baby, and have some work with the National I was writing with before but of course they will only commission what they’re interested in. Barely any editors are commissioning right now due to the pandemic but I can make more weekly than maternity pay, I’ll just have to work extra hard.

I’m just wondering if there is anything I can apply for or any help I can get during this time?

Curiousaboutcuriousgeorge Fri 22-May-20 16:20:01

Try looking over in money matters there’s usually a £10 a day thread running with ideas

lockdownstress Fri 22-May-20 16:21:23

One of you can be working full time both days at the weekend while the other has the baby - loads of supermarket jobs available.