Talk

Advanced search

To ask, if you are furloughed, are you contingency planning?

(46 Posts)
HackAttack Tue 19-May-20 22:14:29

I was wondering if people furloughed are looking for other jobs or changing their businesses?

It must be such a tough time 😔

silverbubbles Tue 19-May-20 22:18:02

Not yet. Seems a bit premature. I am hoping to go back to my job in sales one day. Do you think I should be looking for a job?

Northernsoullover Tue 19-May-20 22:18:32

I'm in a very privileged position. I run a small business but I'm also studying. There is the real chance that I might have to close it down if it doesn't pick up in September but as its my final year I might just knuckle down and study. If I'm careful I might be ok with just my student finance.

Almahart Tue 19-May-20 22:19:16

I would be job hunting if there were any jobs to be hunted

Parky04 Tue 19-May-20 22:19:52

I haven't been furloughed but redundancy looks very likely. Have saved like crazy in the last 3 months.

Iseethesilverlining Tue 19-May-20 22:21:28

DH furloughed to the end of June but just heard that most staff will be made redundant in July. Have been saving as much as we could. Not a good time to go on the job market.

Myshinynewname Tue 19-May-20 22:21:48

No, not yet. I think I will be made redundant but I will struggle to work around dh hours until the dc are back in school. We are lucky that we can afford for me to stay at home as long as necessary.

Blankiefan Tue 19-May-20 22:21:58

I've pulled back spending and I'm brushing up my LinkedIn profile. But I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

HackAttack Tue 19-May-20 22:22:18

I don't know silver, I suppose it's different depending on what you do

yelyah22 Tue 19-May-20 22:29:12