Talk

Advanced search

To think school should offer more?

(201 Posts)
supermanisdead Sat 16-May-20 07:22:07

My DD is yr8 at a large comp. she is set roughly 2-3 hours of work a day online which she does.

For the first 5 weeks there was zero feedback given until I messaged the head who said they were implementing it that day. Since then feedback has been very sporadic.

There have been no Zoom or google classroom lessons. I'm concerned about the lack of face to face teaching and formative feedback. She's had one phone call from her tutor.

I'm interested to know what other schools are providing to see if it's comparable.

A bit of background - I'm an FE lecturer and have to call my learners once a week and provide Almost all lessons in a Zoom format. I can't understand why secondary schools aren't offering the same?!

OP’s posts: |
Teacher12345 Sat 16-May-20 07:27:30

I think all schools and institutions are working completely differently depending on their resources.
DS is in yr2 and work is set online, no one is checking if it has been done. It is completley up to us. I work in FE and all work is available on the platform we use and I am constantly emailing the students, marking their work and giving feedback. No zoom or google classrooms though.

WoWsers16 Sat 16-May-20 07:28:21

Schools shouldn't have to offer zoom/online live lessons- there's a lot of safe guarding issues - as well as many families don't have access to computers / internet etc..
I think 3 hours a day of work is plenty - that is what my son gets - any extra you want your child can do can be an extension on those lessons if needed (extra research, more writing etc...)
Feedback maybe a bit more random - that may be because staff are still going into school looking after vulnerable and keyworker children - and with the priority on years 10 and 12 coming up they may be doing more with them.