Talk

Advanced search

To be upset that my dd's reception teacher has introduced set sanctions on her 2nd day at school?

(19 Posts)
Jacanne Tue 11-Sep-07 18:07:46

DD1 came home from school quite concerned about the sanctions scheme that her classteacher explained to them all today. Apparently they start off on a chart and if they break one of the "Golden rules" their name goes down a level, if they break another their name ends up back in the basket and they miss out on something. She was very worried because she couldn't read the Golden Rules or remember what they were.

I asked her what happened if the followed the Golden Rules all the time, but apparently they just stay on the chart.

I was a reception teacher and I would never have introduced something this negative, particularly so near the beginning of term. I would have gone with the more positive - if you are observed keeping one of the Golden Rules something nice happens.

DD1 is not an overly-sensitive child and it takes a lot to bother her but she now seems to obsessed by the "Golden Rules" and even her imaginary friends have made a come back (apparently they keep breaking them and are in big trouble).

FluffyMummy123 Tue 11-Sep-07 18:09:08

Message withdrawn

ladymuck Tue 11-Sep-07 18:11:23

Class rules are normal, but I have to say that in reception the teacher just puts on her teacher voice and that seems to do the trick most of the time. By Year 1 other sanctions are introduced, and various stars are awarded/deducted etc.

MegaLegs Tue 11-Sep-07 18:11:25

DS2's Yr2 teacher told us today that she was going to be horrible to them for two weeks to get some discipline (really tricky class) and then she would strat to be nice. All the mums nodded (too scared)

goingfor3 Tue 11-Sep-07 18:11:49

DD needed to keep to the rules, nothing was taken away from the 'naughty' children but after a couple of warnings they had to sit by themselves.

VagusPabo Tue 11-Sep-07 18:12:48