Talk

Advanced search

Poor DH not getting a break......but it’s fine for me to not have a break?!

(122 Posts)
QueenofmyPrinces Wed 20-Nov-19 10:15:55

I can’t tell if I’m overreacting?

I’m a nurse and my husband is a teacher.

I work two days a week, I work my shifts two days in a row, and I’m out the house for over 14 hours each day. I leave the house at 6.50am and am usually home at about 9.30pm. I’m obviously very worn out by the time I get home on my first day, and by the end of my second day I’m shattered.

My husband works 5 days a week, leaves the house at 7am and is back by 4.15pm.

We have two children, a 5 year old and a 2 year old. The 5 year old is at school and the 2 year old goes to a childminder on the days I work.

My husband goes to the gym about three evenings a week once the children are in bed which he can obviously only do because I’m at home to sit with the children. He also goes 1-2 mornings a week before work, so he leaves the house at about 5am so I do all the morning routine myself when the children wake up at about 6am.

The only time I get to do something for myself is for 2 hours on a Friday morning and the 2 year old goes to his childminder during that time to enable me to do it.

On the 5 days I’m not at work I do all the housework jobs, I do the school runs, the homework, the bath times, the bedtimes and I obviously have the 2 year old during the day. My two year old also still wakes 1-2 times a night which I get up and deal with.

When my husband comes home he will cook us our evening meal.

My Manager spoke to me earlier and asked if I could swap my shifts this week to work this coming Saturday and Sunday as they are short staffed. I checked with DH to make sure he/we didn’t have any plans and he said it was fine to work the weekend.

I have since bumped into my FIL, it came up in conversation and he did not look happy and implied that it wasn’t really fair as it meant my DH “wouldn’t get a break.”