Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to ask how to get into HR Career

(22 Posts)
lifecouldbeadream Mon 21-Oct-19 07:53:32

I’m a graduate with a Business Management Degree and currently in my early 40’s. I’d love to work in HR and while I have had some involvement, not enough (I think) to walk into a HR role.

Do I need to sign up for CIPD and put myself through the quals? Do I need to accept that it’s too late to change career?

All my experience has been in SME in Office Manager/Ops type roles, I’d love to do something more strategic.

siantwinmum Mon 21-Oct-19 08:03:15

I think you would have to start with a HR admin role with the idea of progressing. You wouldn't necessarily need the CIPD or experience for that sort of role, but you may find it useful to look at a qualification as you climb the HR ladder x

thekingfisher Mon 21-Oct-19 08:14:48

I'd look for an office manager role with HR support. Lots of smaller companies I've worked with I've helped set them up with this kind of arrangement.

I'd certainly explore CIPD but perhaps look at rather than the full level 5 quals perhaps look at one of their intensive employment law practitioner type courses which tend to be more relevant to day to day hr activities

thekingfisher Mon 21-Oct-19 08:15:26

Btw in my book it's never too late !

lifecouldbeadream Mon 21-Oct-19 08:23:49

Thanks both- I want corporate HR really, I’m in a really fortunate position that I can choose to re-train and not worry too much about the cost of that. Just don’t know if the re-training would be pointless as no-one would employ me!

Traveller104 Mon 21-Oct-19 08:32:38

Yes the qualifications help because it shows commitment to your career change as well as a variety of HR knowledge. I changed careers into HR about 5 years ago and have done CIPD level 5 and level 7 and this has helped me move upwards quite quickly in the corporate HR world.

Mishfit0819 Mon 21-Oct-19 08:33:32