Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to really want to gloat at DH?

(24 Posts)
SisyphusHadItEasy Mon 08-Apr-19 00:41:03

Brief back story... DH has taken up the hobby of blade making/decorative iron work. I wholeheartedly support it, and most recent special occasion gifts for him have been related to his hobby.

I am studying Civil Engineering right now, and am taking an elective course (Warriorship and Honour - it matters). For the final assignment, we had the choice to write yet another essay, or do "something else". Since we have what is required to do it at home already, I figured "why not?" and was approved to make a sword for my assignment.

It is due on Thursday, and I am almost complete - just a little more grinding and polishing, and I am done.

DH was adamant I could not do this. He tried to step in more than once, and has been offering "advice" repeatedly.

AIBU to want to rub his nose in the fact that not only did I do it, but it looks good, and is a longer and more complex sword than he has ever made?

God I hate it when I am underrated.

(note : this is an unfinished picture still...)

Vehivle Mon 08-Apr-19 00:46:50

I'm glad you proved him wrong - but why is it bent at the end?

Flossy04 Mon 08-Apr-19 00:46:53

Not unreasonable at all 😂 my OH used to think I could t do a lot of things, soon proved him wrong haha, you should be proud of what you achieved and I'm sure he will be proud of you too!!

SisyphusHadItEasy Mon 08-Apr-19 00:49:30

Vehicle it is supposed to be bent. It is a Chinese Dao, that is the design.

Odd looking, I know. DD says it looks like a hockey stick

SisyphusHadItEasy Mon 08-Apr-19 00:50:38

Vehivle darn autocarrot!!

UterusUterusGhali Mon 08-Apr-19 02:01:24

It's lovely, well done!!

OH and I thrive on petty rivalries, so I'd gloat if he'd been mean about my attempts. But maybe he feels like you've pissed on his parade a bit, and butted into his hobby. (Although it's a great hobby to share)

MrsTerryPratchett Mon 08-Apr-19 02:09:05