Talk

Advanced search

To use employees’ kids & not advertise?

(16 Posts)
MadderAndMadders Sun 07-Apr-19 16:34:33

I’m an IT manager in a GP surgery. This summer we have a big IT project which will require about 2 weeks worth of data to be manually inputted.

The GPs have made it very clear that they don’t have the time to enter their data themselves, and while the nurses and pharmacists had initially grudgingly agreed to do it, they’ve become far less willing after hearing that the GPs won’t be!

All in all, it is going to be time consuming (as we’re a very large practice) but not difficult. Our practice manager has said he’s happy to pay minimum wage for others to do it.

I’ve never been in this position before, and was wondering whether it would be unreasonable to use my own kids who will be home from uni, along with the children of the GPs/other staff? (All aged 16+).

It would just be so much easier than having to sift through CVs when it’s a job that requires no skill whatsoever.

spanieleyes Sun 07-Apr-19 16:36:03

I can't see a problem doing so ( as long as every child gets the opportunity, not just yours!)

PumpkinPie2016 Sun 07-Apr-19 16:38:36

I say go for it and use the kids! The sixth form college where I used to work did this and it worked really well.

The time consuming job (that no one else has the time to do) got done and the kids earned themselves some extra money and some experience - win win!

If they are employees kids, they can get lifts off parents so no worries about them relying on buses which may make them late.

Ask around your colleagues - I'm sure there will be students who want work.

CupoTeap Sun 07-Apr-19 16:39:24

Didn't you get enough responses last time you posted this?

RuthW Sun 07-Apr-19 16:40:49

I have a similar job to you. We wouldn't hesitate to use staff's children. In fact the 16 year old son of one of my gps is working for us one day a week for a few months after school sorting something out.