Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to be panicking over this?

(24 Posts)
Purplegecko Tue 02-Apr-19 17:20:27

My boyfriend drilled a screw into a water pipe last night, he didn't realise and neither did I. I took the screw out today as he'd put it in the wrong place and was hit in the face by a jet of water. (I hadn't asked him to do this nor did I know he had done it until I came home today so it was a shock!).

I turned the water off but I'm now left with a hole in the pipe, and no running water when I've got a toddler and it's 'that time of the month' so really need water for washing machine and showers.

How much roughly will this cost to fix? I know it depends on the extent of the damage to the pipe but an idea of cost if I need a plumber would be appreciated.

I am a student so haven't got a lot of money, so I'm in a total panic really! Can this be sorted easily or am I looking at hundreds for a plumber? I've lived on my own for about 5 years, since I was 17, and never had any kind of plumbing problem and don't know what to do.

I feel really silly for not having a clue sad

Wintersnowdrop Tue 02-Apr-19 17:24:32

Where’s your boyfriend now? Can’t he fix it?

gobbynorthernbird Tue 02-Apr-19 17:31:15

Do you have insurance? And do you own or rent? Any immediate neighbours?

Houseonahill Tue 02-Apr-19 17:32:59

Are you insured? Insurance may cover it.

www.emergencyplumber.uk.com/plumbing/nail-through-pipe/

That is just a link from Google but it explains a quick fix depending how handy you or your bf are but it's not a permanent solution.

PolarBearDisguisedAsAPenguin Tue 02-Apr-19 17:36:26

I think you’ll need to get a couple of quotes from plumbers as it’s impossible to know how much damage there is from what you have written. Then you’ll know whether you need to contact your home insurance and see if they will cover it or whether it isn’t worth claiming anyway. Hopefully it is straightforward and cheap to fix.

PutyourtoponTrevor Tue 02-Apr-19 17:38:02