Talk

Advanced search

5p at Florist for a bag. AIBU?

(99 Posts)
macarmahouse Sat 30-Mar-19 17:31:25

I bought my mother a planter of flowers for £50 and paid with all the cash I had. I asked for something to cover it as my mum was in my car as I’d ferried her to an appointment. She said it’s too big for paper but I can give you a bag?

I said ooh great thanks! She said, 5 pence please? Oh I don’t have anymore change, ruffling through my handbag for some. She stood there holding the bag. So I said oh sorry I don’t have the 5p. Then she put the bag away and handed me the flowers.

I was a little bit taken aback but I do see it from her point of view. BTW I used to work in retail and we gave backs out willy nilly. I guess it is better for the environment.

AIBU to expect her to have said oh don’t worry, here you go, have the bag for nothing. £50 isn’t an insignificant amount to spend.

IceRebel Sat 30-Mar-19 17:35:02

Surely even with the bag it would have been obvious what they were by the shape and smell. it would have been nice to receive a bag for free, but it would have been easier all round to collect the flowers without your mother.

GreyGardens88 Sat 30-Mar-19 17:35:36

Don't they legally have to charge for it now?

NicoAndTheNiners Sat 30-Mar-19 17:35:40

Independent florist or large chain one because if its a chain florist I think it's the law? If they have over so many employees?

dinkydolphin Sat 30-Mar-19 17:36:32

She could have thrown in a bag! I would have been tempted to hand the flowers back and ask for my money back.

FourEyesGood Sat 30-Mar-19 17:36:41

The 5p charge is the law, isn’t it?

TeaStory Sat 30-Mar-19 17:36:42

If the company that runs shop is over a certain size she was obliged to charge the 5p by law...

PlainSpeakingStraightTalking Sat 30-Mar-19 17:37:02

The law says the 5p charge only applies to business with over 250 employees. It also doesn't apply if you buy wet fish or an axe hmm

Actually - they cant charge for plants