Talk

Advanced search

Dyspraxia?

(15 Posts)
Chocoholic26 Fri 29-Mar-19 15:35:09

Hello, feeling a bit confused. My son’s nursery has highlighted this week that he’s very clumsy and is continually falling over. This week alone he has scraped his face and hurt his knee. They seem concerned. They didn’t really go into any sort of detail until I questioned them (I’m a teacher) about possible dyspraxia. They said no they didn’t think that was the cause. So I’m just feeling a bit confused to why they are concerned? I suggested perhaps taking him to get his eyesight tested, and again they said no they didn’t think that was needed. I’m going to get it checked anyway but I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced similar with their children and could enlighten me as to what they think may be wrong? I don’t find him clumsy at home and neither does his private nursery (school nursery is concerned). If he needs extra support in any way I’d love to get it for him but just unsure what they are meaning?

ChocolateCrisp Fri 29-Mar-19 15:47:19

Arse covering.
Someone is pushing him.
Growth spurt and not used to his new size.
Ear infection.
Eye issue.
Dopey from nap.
Because a leaf blew past the window.

ChocolateCrisp Fri 29-Mar-19 15:48:27

Oh, are his shoes/slippers the right size?

hazeyjane Fri 29-Mar-19 15:55:19

Did they make any suggestions about what it could be, even if only implied....

sometimes kids can be clumsy because they are over tired? Is his footwear suitable for running around outside? Do they fit well?

Did they say it was juat falling or other difficulties in area of physical development....catching ball? Riding trikes? Running with an odd gait etc?

Did they suggest any next steps of how they would help him with gross motor skills?

goose1964 Fri 29-Mar-19 16:07:11