Talk

Advanced search

To wonder if anyone actually ever wins magazine competitions?

(103 Posts)
cricketmum84 Fri 29-Mar-19 11:06:34

I'm always doing the puzzles in Take a break, chat etc and have done for years and never won anything sad

Aibu to think that Marie H from Chorley who won £500 and Annie W from London and suchlike are made up people???

Has anyone ever won from completing the puzzles and submitting their answers?

Pootles34 Fri 29-Mar-19 11:09:14

Yes my mum won an amazing 3 day spa experience - can't remember which one. I think it must have been worth close to 1k, it was 2 nights in a posh suite, treatments etc.

ShannonRockallMalin Fri 29-Mar-19 11:11:25

Strangely enough I was thinking about this earlier when I was putting my gym trainers on. About 20 years ago I won a competition in a fitness magazine and got a pair of trainers, a bag and various other bits and bobs. I was a student at the time and very chuffed!

Cornishmum00 Fri 29-Mar-19 11:12:48

I won argos vouchers about 10 years ago

Instantreplay Fri 29-Mar-19 11:13:02

An acquaintance of mine recently won a weekend break to a European city courtesy of Take a Break magazine.
I’ve never won anything though 🙄

LosingLola Fri 29-Mar-19 11:15:29

I won tickets to a theme park a few years ago

Chouetted Fri 29-Mar-19 11:17:29

Yes, I won a crossword competition for £100.

I only entered it to prove my mum wrong - she had been saying the same as you, that noone ever really wins. Most satisfying argument I've ever won, to be honest.

LizB62A Fri 29-Mar-19 11:25:29

Yes, I've won a few

Myfanwyprice Fri 29-Mar-19 11:27:12

I won Take That tickets through Smash Hits a very long time ago!

mummyofdaughters Fri 29-Mar-19 11:34:37

I won a family photography session a few years back. We had to pay for the prints but the shoot was free!

aposterhasnoname Fri 29-Mar-19 11:34:58

My gran used to win all the time, she was forever giving away stuff she’d won. Had a fair few cash wins too.