Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to wonder how you would feel about your child having an autistic teacher?

(129 Posts)
Aspieteach Fri 22-Mar-19 22:30:34

Name changed for this just in case any one from my school is able to identify me from previous posts.

I had an appointment today at my county's neurobehavioural clinic. No formal diagnosis yet, but I was told that I meet the diagnostic criteria for ASD. I'm going to "come out" to friends and colleagues once I've had a formal diagnosis but don't know whether to tell parents or not.

I've been a primary school teacher for over 20 years and have always had good relationships with both the children in my class and with parents. But I'm not sure whether parents who don't know me would feel uncomfortable with the idea of their children being taught by someone with autism or whether parents who do know me may change their opinion of me.

I'll read all replies if anyone takes the trouble to post, but won't be back on this thread tonight. Today's been quite intense and overwhelming. I'm feeling pretty exhausted so am off to bed now.

3boysandabump Fri 22-Mar-19 22:32:29

It wouldn't bother me at all. I wouldn't expect to know about it tbh. It's not a parents business to know personal details like that about a teacher.

malificent7 Fri 22-Mar-19 22:32:52

I would be fine with it. Don't worry...you sound great.

LeekMunchingSheepShagger Fri 22-Mar-19 22:33:32

I would be delighted. My year 6 dd has asd and it would be wonderful for her to have a teacher who understands.

There's no reason why someone with asd cant be a good teacher.

Joebloggswazere Fri 22-Mar-19 22:34:25

It wouldn’t bother me at all. As long as you were doing your job and my child was happy and learning then I don’t see how it would be an issue.

Lovestonap Fri 22-Mar-19 22:35:13

I've been a primary school teacher for over 20 years and have always had good relationships with both the children in my class and with parents