Talk

Advanced search

To think that I am now on the spectrum?

(52 Posts)
captainmarvella Tue 19-Mar-19 18:30:48

I am a freelancer. Unfortunately home is rather a chaotic place, so I tend to work from a local cafe. Lately it's been very hard, though, because the music that’s in the background really makes me feel agitated and lose my focus. At some point I can actually feel myself clenching!

All around me people are working or talking with not the slightest objection to the music. So it is definitely me... I switched to a few different cafes, and yep, the minute the music comes on, I just go quietly nuts. So I got myself a co-working space, and guess what – even they play music, albeit more lounge than rock, but it still grates on my nerves... I am able to work only in absolute silence.

Some other changes - I am not able to write in unruled notebooks anymore, it has to be lined. No more jeans, I suddenly hate everything that’s tight on my body (I used to love figure hugging outfits). Too much light is literally hurting my brain, so I have dimmed all the lights in the house. Having been a slob all my life, now I am unable to stop myself from decluttering all day.

Just last week I went on a shopping binge, bought colour co-ordinated boxes and making sure nothing is out of place. I also am arranging everything in straight lines sad I never had these preferences before! The other day someone close to me said, in a jokey way (hopefully), that I was turning into a Mini-Sheldon...

I don’t know... should I get tested for anything else? If yes, what? I have heard that such behaviour can indicate spectrum disorders... No big change in my life recently... well, apart from the fact that I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disorder.