Talk

Advanced search

Would you speak to the teacher?

(74 Posts)
Ispini Tue 19-Mar-19 12:39:57

I don’t know if I’m overreacting or not but I am quite miffed by this. The other day my DD (secondary age)was in English class and they were doing some Irish poetry. The teacher spent the first ten minutes speaking in a ‘leprechaun’ (as she described it) Irish accent. For the rest of the day the kids kept saying stupid things like ‘top of the morning to ya’ etc. She came home and asked me what that meant! I have to say I was irritated and feel that if it was poetry from another country he would not have done this. My DD is well travelled and seemed quite baffled as she has never encountered something like this before. FWIW I am a teacher and wouldn’t dream of doing this. WWYD?

InnerCircle Tue 19-Mar-19 12:49:01

WWID?

Nothing.

Is it somehow bad to speak with an accent which isn't yours? Some kind of "appropriation"?

Tunnockswafer Tue 19-Mar-19 12:51:51

Would the teacher have used a fake Caribbean accent, for example? It’s not ok.

JustHavinABreak Tue 19-Mar-19 13:10:10

@InnerCircle, It's hardly giving the Irish poet the respect that his or her work deserves though is it? By turning the focus of the lesson into some faux "top-of-tha-mornin" nonsense, it just becomes a complete circus.

cariadlet Tue 19-Mar-19 13:12:18

I would tell my dd that the teacher was behaving like an idiot and that if there was an Irish pupil or pupil of Irish descent in the class they would probably have felt quite upset by it.

I wouldn't bother speaking to the school - although I would mention it to the teacher if I happened to see them in the not too distant future eg if there was a parents evening coming up.

InnerCircle Tue 19-Mar-19 13:28:46

@JustHavinABreak

Centering me in the toxicity of the conversation (I hope I'm hitting the right buzzwords), I couldn't care less.