Talk

Advanced search

To ask for an ambulance?

(343 Posts)

MNHQ have commented on this thread.

Kindofnewtothis Wed 13-Mar-19 20:46:42

I don't know what to do really.
Had a bit of leg pain and tingling the last day or so and wasn't concerned at all but I rang 111, because I had a pulmonary embolism a year ago I thought I should be cautious in case it was another blood clot.
111 people got a doctor from the local hospital to ring me back, she said she isn't concerned from what I've said but wants me to come to a&e straight away for bloods and scan.
I honestly feel fine and a little bit embarrassed, what if it's just a sore muscle or something.
But when I got off the phone I then realised I now have £3 in my bank account and about 80p cash, so can't get an Uber or a bus at this time. I'm a student so all my friends and family are in a different city. Should I ring 111 back and ask if they have a way to transport me? I feel well but if a doctor has told me to go to a&e then it's made me worried.

keepforgettingmyusername Wed 13-Mar-19 20:47:50

Yes I would ring them back. No one in your family could transfer some money to your bank account no?

John470322 Wed 13-Mar-19 20:49:21

Yes phone and explain and see what they suggest. They may send transport, it is best to phone and ask.

Tiredofit Wed 13-Mar-19 20:52:07

Out of hours once sent a car for baby ds and I when I didn’t have any transport so they may have an arrangement. Give them a ring back and see. Hope all is well.

MakeLemonade Wed 13-Mar-19 20:52:41

Could your family pay for a taxi over the phone? Most can take a card payment over the phone although may add a small fee.

ATBhinchers Wed 13-Mar-19 20:55:45

I'd say 99% of your family and friends use online banking so just give them a shout and I'm sure they'll transfer it immediately. you don't need an ambulance.

HarrysOwl Wed 13-Mar-19 20:58:38

I think of would try everything I possibly could before using an ambulance as a taxi.