Talk

Advanced search

To apply for this job?

(19 Posts)
Islands81 Sun 10-Mar-19 01:35:45

I’ve been self employed for 14 years, running my own business as a sole trader. This has been ideal whilst the children were young, as I’ve been able to work from home. It doesn’t make a huge amount of money and I’m concerned that I’m cracking on towards 40 and don’t have a career or any kind of pension. I did a BSc and graduated 2 years ago with a first, but haven’t been really looking for work as the timing still wasn’t right with regards to the children.

There’s a job advertised locally, it’s working for a school in a fairly responsible admin role. I’ve read through the job description and person specification and can’t see any reason why I couldn’t do it.

I filled in the application last night and since then I’ve been really miserable. I do have relevant experience but most of it is from 15 years ago! I’m usually quite good at writing but I am struggling with making myself sound appealing enough. It’s dawned on me that I don’t have the confidence to apply for it, if I got rejected I’d be so upset. I know people will say that you need to apply for loads of jobs to actually get one. However, I live in the arse end of nowhere and interesting and well paid jobs like this don’t come along very often. Moving isn’t an option.

Feeling really down and wondering how possible it really is to get back into the job market after a long break from being an employee? I can’t even put down a referee from my last job (which is required), as I’ve been my own boss for so long.

Lovingbenidorm Sun 10-Mar-19 01:44:44

I think you should go for it.
You sound qualified for it .
It’s not unreasonable to offer a personal reference as you have been your own boss for so long.
Focus on your strengths, you’ve got lots
Go get it !!

Redshoeblueshoe Sun 10-Mar-19 01:44:55