Talk

Advanced search

To think that my Scottish accent wasn't posh enough?

(191 Posts)
TheGoal Sat 09-Mar-19 20:43:14

I was at an event today with my kids. I was invited but I didn't know the vast majority of the other parents/children there.

Everyone at the event spoke with what can only be described as a posh English accent. I don't mean that to sound in any way offensive. I found the group to not be very friendly to me at all. I tried to make conversation with so many people, asking them about their children etc but as soon as I stopped asking questions, the conversation went dead. I got the impression they had no interest in chatting to me.

My background is that I'm from a fairly well off family, had a very comfortable upbringing, but I don't have a posh accent for whatever reason. I just talk, well, Scottish. I don't use slang words, my parents didn't so I suppose you just mirror your parents with that sort of thing. I suppose what I'm getting at is that I don't necessarily sound as though I'm from a well off family.

I found the whole group to be pretentious and my gut is telling me that I just didn't sound posh enough for them to want to mix with me?

Has anyone else experienced this? I'm feeling quite low tonight after what can only be described as a very unpleasant day being made to feel an outsider. It makes me really sad that people would think this way and although I don't have any hard evidence that my accent was the reason, I have a very strong gut feeling. It's sad to think people can be so shallow.

singwhenyoureswimming Sat 09-Mar-19 20:47:01

I’m Scottish (from Glasgow and have a fairly well spoken accent) and I’ll tell you one thing, I wouldn’t swap my accent for ANYTHING.

Where the hell are you? 😂 I would have been annoyed if it were me.

GreatDuckCookery6211 Sat 09-Mar-19 20:47:08