Talk

Advanced search

Doubting my AAT studies

(13 Posts)
Beansprout30 Sun 03-Mar-19 22:17:24

Just about to return to my dead end job after second mat leave. I started AAT before my second pregnancy as work treated me like crap when I returned first time. I’ve spent a lot of time and money completing level 2 and am about to start level 3, but at the back of my mind I’m wondering if it will actually get me anywhere? Anyone found the qualification useful and a way into a good career?

Stickerrocks Sun 03-Mar-19 22:28:32

What do you want to do & what are you currently doing? Level 2 really is very basic, whilst level 3 will actually start to give you some technical skills which will be more valuable to an employer.

Fulmar Sun 03-Mar-19 23:04:40

I would recommend looking at job adverts for the sort of job you want and see if they specify AAT as a requirement. I'm a qualified accountant and have been a Finance Director for the past 15 years and have been hiring accountants for about 30 years - I've never specified AAT as a requirement, experience and a good attitude are much more important. And TBH I've hardly heard AAT discussed at all in 30 years (except with someone who gave up halfway through because she didn't think an exam process that was so easy could be worth it - but that was some time ago so might be different now). But others might think differently so research the sort of jobs and industries you are thinking of working in.

Whatdoingmummy Sun 03-Mar-19 23:34:36

It depends if you want a career in finance? You say your job is dead end, but would that be the case if you did your level 4 & CIMA? If a career in finance doesn't appeal to you then don't do it, especially if you're paying. I've just started my level 3, fully funded & supported by work. Where I work it's the only way to work up the ladder so I don't really have a choice.

Now is the time to train in a career you're passionate about, don't stay doing something that doesn't make you happy.