Talk

Advanced search

What does an “average” work day look like for your DP?

(57 Posts)
tokirara Sun 03-Mar-19 20:21:24

Inspired by the other ongoing thread here:
www.mumsnet.com/Talk/am_i_being_unreasonable/3522839-What-does-an-average-work-day-look-like-for-you

Also helpful to state whether you (the mum) is a SAHM or full-time/part-time working parent. And no mudslinging the DHs either way please - let's be kind...

So my DP:

05:00 - wake up and start working (laptop - emails)
06:30 - DS(3) wakes up
07:40 - DP takes DS to nursery
08:10 - DP drops DS off
08:40 - DP arrives in the office
09:00 to 16:30 - usually back to back meetings with half hour lunchtime break
16:30 - work emails
17:15 - leaves to collect DS from nursery
18:15 - reaches home

tokirara Sun 03-Mar-19 20:21:52

Forgot to add, full-time working parent here.

DramaAlpaca Sun 03-Mar-19 20:25:49

I haven't a clue what he does all day, but he leaves for work at 8.30 & arrives home at 7. As for me, I leave home at 9.20 & get home between 6 & 7. We share cooking & household duties in the evening, no small DC at home now.

spaniorita Sun 03-Mar-19 20:27:26

No idea what he does all day. Leaves at 07:20 arrives home at about 18:00. Probably faffs about a bit on a laptop in between.

hidinginthenightgarden Sun 03-Mar-19 20:29:43

Varies depending on who is doing drop off and pick up but tomorrow for example:
I will get up with DC at 6ish and wake him at 7. (I had a lie in today).
DP takes DD at 8.15 (I take DS)
DP gets to work at 9ish.
Leaves work at 4 on mondays and collects both kids to take to the gym.
Leaves gym at 7.
Put DS to bed at 8.

Thesearmsofmine Sun 03-Mar-19 20:32:31

Mine works shifts.

Days would be

4.30am get up, dressed
5.15 leave
5.45am-5.45pm work(physical job so on his feet)
6.15pm home to dinner

Nights
Leaves home about 5.15pm
5.45pm-5.45am work
6.10am home
8am bed until 4pmish

ErickBroch Sun 03-Mar-19 20:34:40

Leaves at 7:55 and gets home at 6

I personally leave at 7am and get home at 6

Slowknitter Sun 03-Mar-19 20:34:53

7:00 Gets up
7:40 drives to work (teacher, senior leadership)
Teaching, meetings, works in his office
Usually home some time between 6 and 7pm, unless there's a parents' evening, open evening, school event etc.

Gillian1980 Sun 03-Mar-19 20:36:18

7.30 wake up
7.40 get up /dressed/ light breakfast/ feed cats
8.10 take dd to nursery
8.30 arrive at office
5.10 leave office
5.25 collect dd
5.50 get home. Cuppa while I feed dd her tea.
6.30 family time in lounge.
7.00 (alternate nights) takes dd up for bed, stories etc.
7.45 dinner with me
8.30 splits chores with me
9.00 chill out, talk, tv
11.00 bed, usually chat and read until midnight

It is variable, sometimes he wfh or away, in which case I may do the nursery runs.

I work 4 days 9-5 but further away.

Oysterbabe Sun 03-Mar-19 20:37:02

I work part time. On days I'm home:
8:00 wakes up, showers and dresses
8:30 breakfast with me and the kids
9:00 leaves for work
9:15-6 fucks around on Twitter, bit of colouring in.
6:15 arrives home.

On days I'm working.
7:00 gets up, showers and dresses
7:20 takes the kids off me as I leave for work.
7:20-8:45 gives the kids breakfast and gets them dressed
8:45 - leave for nursery
9:00-5:45 fucks around on twitter, bit of colouring in.
6:00 collects kids from nursery
6:15 arrives home.

Kolo Sun 03-Mar-19 20:42:09

7am - leaves house
6pm - comes home.

If you listen to him, in that time he’s done 4 peoples jobs, worked 18hrs, back to back meetings, saved the world.

pacempercutiens Sun 03-Mar-19 20:46:35

I work part time 2.5 days a week. On my work days I either drop DD at Nursery at 8, then get to work by 8:30, back to pick up DD at 1, go home, work from home until 5 whilst DD entertains herself/naps OR DD is at DGP night before, so I'm at work by 7:30 and leave at 4. Top up my hours to equal 2.5 days per week during the other 3 days during DDs naps / evenings. All change soon though as I start my maternity leave in a few weeks.

DH gets up at 6:10, showers/breakfasts/makes packed lunch for himself (& me/DD if we need), leaves for work at 7:15 and arrives home 4:45

Ploppymoodypants Sun 03-Mar-19 20:48:24

Gets up at 7.45am (no matter what day, or circumstance or commitment there is nooo flexibility in this for some reason).
Dressed, washed, feeds dogs, chickens breakfast, loads truck
8.30am leaves for work
Hard physical manual job, self employed so really goes at it, rarely has lunch
4pm (give or take an hour) home, some food (fish finger sandwich)
Then works at home in garden or extension until dark (summer or winter)

Awrite Sun 03-Mar-19 20:49:18

6am - gets up, empties dishwasher, makes me coffee.

8am - takes dc2 to childminder, gets to work for 8.30.

4.30-4.45pm - finishes work. Sometimes picks up dc2 from after school club.

I leave for work at 7.40am with dc1 in the car.

I get home between 4.30-5pm depending on how busy I am. I sometimes pick up dc2.

We are both very busy at work. Not sure who has the harder job. We earn roughly the same.

Stumpted88 Sun 03-Mar-19 20:51:01

No idea, what DH does but he goes to work at 6:50 and picks DS up at 17:15

I leave at 7:30, drop DS off and come home around 18:15.

We all say hello then collapse on the sofa until it’s time for bed 😁

Pascha Sun 03-Mar-19 20:52:44

Up at 6
Out the door just after 7
On the job at people's houses 8 til about 3-4pm
Office work for an hour or two (4-6ish)
Home by 6.30ish.

He's a tradesman so that all changes depending on circumstance of course.

bugeyedbarber Sun 03-Mar-19 21:00:42

Night worker

7 pm - I get home and do DDs bath and bed routine. He eats

8 pm - he chills after just having eaten an enormous dinner (he walks A LOT where he works and needs the calories)

9 pm he packs and leaves

5 am he returns - has breakfast, sorts the dishwasher

6 am DD gets up. He does her breakfast. They hang out and play

7:30 - he takes her to Nanny

Comes back at 8 - we chat have a coffee together, I leave for work having showered and had my breakfast when he was out

8:30 - 9 am goes to bed while I go to work

5 pm - gets up and goes to get DD from Nanny

7 pm I come home for DD's bedtime

And so on and so on...

cocodash Sun 03-Mar-19 21:00:52

@oysterbabe fucks around on Twitter and colouring in hahahaha
My DH must work in another department from yours coz am sure he fucks about on Facebook most the day

DrWhy Sun 03-Mar-19 21:01:54

I’m currently on mat leave. Depends s but on when and where his first meeting is but roughly,
7.00 ish up, sometimes captures the toddler and brings him into the bathroom so I can sleep, sometimes lets the toddler come into me with a pile of books to read.
7.20 ish shower turns on
7.30 gets dressed, changes and dresses the toddler if he’s going to nursery
7.50 makes toast and uses toast to bribe toddler into the car
8am leaves
8.20 nursery drop off
8.30 ish at desk (via costa at the office most days I think)
Meetings, making powerpoints, PowerPoints in meetings, lunch is usually grabbed from the coffee shop or canteen at eaten st his desk or in a meeting.
5 to 5.20 ish leaves desk
5.30 ish nursery pick up, calls to say he’s heading home
6ish home
Occasionally, every couple of weeks works a few hours in the evening.
Two mornings a week he has no nursery drop off and two evenings no pick up. Occasionally this all goes out of the window and he leaves at 4.30am to a heliport and comes home a few days later, timing weather dependant. thanks

LeekMunchingSheepShagger Sun 03-Mar-19 21:03:12

I'm a sahm.

Dh gets up at 6.30 and leaves the house at 7.30. He comes back between 11 and 12 hours later. He cooks dinner for the 2 of us every evening (his choice; it relaxes him apparently!)

PlainVanilla Sun 03-Mar-19 21:06:17

I have no idea. We do not live together.
When I first met him he was an airline pilot, so we saw one another much more.
Shift work - no idea!

isseywithcats Sun 03-Mar-19 21:15:09

hes a lecturer so different depending on time of the year some weeks mainly teaching with some work at home preparing lectures, coming up for exams i hardly see him as he is teaching and writing exams as well as lectures and then after exams marking papers

Isth Sun 03-Mar-19 21:17:25

He’s an agricultural contractor, so there’s no average. He might leave the yard at 5am, might leave at 9am, might not leave the yard all day. Might get home at 7pm (v rare to be any earlier), might get in at 3am, might not come in at all. Who knows 😂

DaffyCactus Sun 03-Mar-19 21:17:57

Mine is up before 6, showers, shaves and deals with the animals, waking me up with coffee as he leaves by about 6.55. He has a 1.5hour commute and a stupidly packed day full of meetings with sandwiches eaten at desk for lunch. Then leaves work around 5-5.30 so home 6.30 or 7pm. Dinner is usually on the table by then (we eat as a family which is nice), he clears up afterwards, often does a short exercise routine and then pretty much falls asleep in front of the TV.
I do all the shopping, cooking, washing, driving, during the week, plus all the house and parenting admin. I feel continually guilty that he works so hard and gets so little sleep while I only work around 15-20 hours a week and have a much better balance, but I don't think we'd stay afloat as a happy, functioning family if I worked much more.
We really do live from weekend to weekend at the moment. I long for retirement (only 19 years to go!)

olderthanyouthink Sun 03-Mar-19 21:19:43

Leaves in morning when I'm still in bed with the baby, 8am maybe
Makes pictures for bbc news all day
Eats lunch at maybe 3pm
Finishes 7-8pm
Home at 8-9pm
After that he takes baby while I do anything I couldn't do if baby was being fussy like eat or sort washing and then he makes himself food.
Watch tv
Bed time he looks after DD while I get ready and then I take her back to feed. In bed at 11pm-12am

I'm on maternity leave not sure how/if this is going to change when I go back to work because he does 4 days a week but the days are sooo long

Join the discussion

Registering is free, quick, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Get started »