Talk

Advanced search

To hate the way some people talk to cleaners?

(102 Posts)
clairemcnam Fri 01-Mar-19 12:55:47

Or anyone else they see as below them.
I have seen this in a variety of workplaces, both small private firms, the public sector and universities. Staff with well paid jobs being patronising, talking down to people and making it clear that they think they are better off than cleaners and any other staff with a low status. I hate it, and yet it is fairly common.

IHeartKingThistle Fri 01-Mar-19 13:02:52

I'm a teacher and all our cleaners are Nepalese. I always say hello and thank you and have a little chat but I think largely they're used to being invisible and not being talked to. It makes me a bit uncomfortable tbh.

Bobbiepin Fri 01-Mar-19 13:05:19

Also a teacher. I always chat to the cleaners, make the effort to know security by name and a little about them and I try my best to be lovely to my TAs (after all they are there to help). I judge people by how they treat those in "lower" jobs, having worked in those jobs myself. People are people and deserve to be treated with respect.

clairemcnam Fri 01-Mar-19 13:13:15

Yes I too judge people by how they treat those in low status jobs. Always a sign of someone who is really pretty nasty underneath, irrespective of how lovely they seem at other times.

tobee Fri 01-Mar-19 13:13:47

My usual observation is that people don't talk at all.

clairemcnam Fri 01-Mar-19 13:15:22

You don't say hello to cleaners or other low status staff such as low paid admin workers or security?

MsTSwift Fri 01-Mar-19 13:16:08

Our cleaners talk to me - a lot - which is nice but tricky when working from home and have to get a document out. I like to think I treat everyone the same.

GregoryPeckingDuck Fri 01-Mar-19 13:17:53