Talk

Advanced search

To ask for your wisdom tooth removal stories?

(56 Posts)
CaptainCabinets Thu 21-Feb-19 22:42:06

My dentist told me earlier she was referring me to have my wisdom teeth out under sedation as they’re badly impacted and my jaw is too small to accommodate them.

How bad is it?! Will I have a big swollen moon face after? How long will I need off work? Is it painful?!

I’m a nurse so I’m pretty blasé about most things but I can’t stand anything to do with teeth! Even having my teeth prodded with the metal stick they use in checkups makes my skin crawl 🤢

SerialChangerOfName Fri 22-Feb-19 12:08:40

I had all four impacted wisdom teeth out under general anaesthetic as a day patient in hospital, 20 years ago. It was fine apart from infection in one site afterwards which hurt like hell and got antibiotics and stronger painkillers. Wouldn't have liked to go through it twice so get them all done at the same time if you can.

All the best.

minkies11 Fri 22-Feb-19 12:02:02

Had one non impacted wisdom tooth out 20 days ago with sedation. It was bloody brilliant. I didn't notice a thing and I'm a crappy patient who goes to a phobia centre dentists smile
Had no swelling or pain or any problems at all - literally just took one paracetamol when I got home and was fine. Did have stitches though but hadn't a clue they were going in. Don't remember any sound or any tugging. Easy!

WhoGivesADamnForAFlakeyBandit Fri 22-Feb-19 11:51:39

I had all 4 out under GA. The pads were a bit chokey when I came round, but my brother had taken his out himself when he had his done and then had ended up voming bloody clots so I was ok to keep them on as long as needed.