Talk

Advanced search

To ask for your wisdom tooth removal stories?

(56 Posts)
CaptainCabinets Thu 21-Feb-19 22:42:06

My dentist told me earlier she was referring me to have my wisdom teeth out under sedation as they’re badly impacted and my jaw is too small to accommodate them.

How bad is it?! Will I have a big swollen moon face after? How long will I need off work? Is it painful?!

I’m a nurse so I’m pretty blasé about most things but I can’t stand anything to do with teeth! Even having my teeth prodded with the metal stick they use in checkups makes my skin crawl 🤢

GreenTulips Thu 21-Feb-19 22:44:03

They usually do them on a Friday so you have the weekend to recover

Didn’t have any swelling

Taking the sticky pad monitor things off was more painful!

Lots of pills and salt wash

Otherwise no bother

Sunshinegirl82 Thu 21-Feb-19 22:47:03

I've had all of mine out under sedation (in two batches, one side and then the other)

The op itself was fine, no pain during. It is quite painful afterwards and your mouth is swollen for about a week or so I would say.

Dentist prescribed co-codamol and diclofenac and advised to take regularly even if not in pain. Had a couple of days of feeling very sore but was back at work after a week and so good to be free of the bother my wisdom teeth were giving me!

Buy in lots of soup and some straws!

EKGEMS Thu 21-Feb-19 22:48:07

My twin sister and I had it at the same time after freshman year of university-she woke up in the middle of it I however had to be carried out of the surgical suite at the end of the case! My DH had it in his late 20s and when they brought me back to discuss recovery he was adamant he hadn't had any surgery!

PomBearWithAnOFRS Thu 21-Feb-19 22:49:52

My exH had his wisdom teeth out under sedation, and actually made my then MiL go with him to hold his hand, he was so scared.
It was a doddle, he honestly didn't feel a thing, he was a bit woozy afterwards and we coddled him a bit grin but it was FINE!