Talk

Advanced search

Anyone with a type 1 diabetic child / teen.

(232 Posts)
Foodtheif Sat 09-Feb-19 17:53:12

We’ve been diagnosed around two months now and I’m still so upset about it. Normally could cry at any point within seconds. So worried for her future and how she will cope in her teens. Even though she seems ok with it at the moment and has accepted it, I feel I’m doing worse than she is. I’m also petrified that my older daughter will get it too.

Allyg1185 Sat 09-Feb-19 17:55:40

My son at the moment is getting tested for it and I already feel sick to my stomach. Can I ask what symptoms did your dd have?

agnurse Sat 09-Feb-19 17:56:53

I don't have a child with T1DM, but I'm a nurse and a pediatric nursing instructor.

It's rather unlikely that your other daughter would develop T1DM. It's not genetic. It seems to be the case that a child gets a viral infection and the body produces islet cell antibodies as a result.

It's quite normal to go through a grieving process when a child is diagnosed with a chronic illness. You might see if there are support groups for families of diabetic children in your area. Your diabetes management team might also be helpful.

The good news is that we have many exciting new developments in the area of diabetes care. Diets aren't nearly as restrictive now as they used to be. By the time your daughter becomes a teen, we may have even more options available.

Foodtheif Sat 09-Feb-19 17:57:21

She was drinking loads. Weeing loads. Wet the bed which was v unusual for her. Sore throat and tummy aches. I hope your son doesn’t have it. Is he in hospital?

SylvanianFrenemies Sat 09-Feb-19 17:58:01

I don't have a diabetic child, but I have type 1 myself.

Be kind to yourself. It is early days. I've had diabetes for more than 20 years. My health is good, and it hasn't stopped me from doing anything.

I would recommend looking into Freestyle Libre testing. It makes management easier. Diabetes team will advise.