Talk

Advanced search

To think my ds dosnt have asd

(77 Posts)
Usernamehistory2225684 Fri 22-Jun-18 21:26:46

My 2 and a half ur old ds is in the middle of assessment for asd.
He has no words apart from dada ( he lost mama) he understands some like give daddy your shoes etc he gives hugs and kisses his eye contact is poor but better with me. His play is repetitive and can get upset if he’s routine is not the same he still puts things in his mouth he can point to ask and clap when he’s happy. Does he sound like someone with asd?

Sirzy Fri 22-Jun-18 21:29:23

It is impossible to tell from that snapshot.

What I will say though is a child, especially one so young, doesn’t get referred without there being enough to raise concerns. The process will tell you if there is asd, something else or nothing at all. Whatever the outcome though it’s still the same child!

donajimena Fri 22-Jun-18 21:29:38

I'm no expert but I didn't think my son could have ASD because he's affectionate confused the spectrum is huge and you have given little information.

donajimena Fri 22-Jun-18 21:31:28

Sorry that sounds snappy. Its just so difficult to tell as pp said from the info.

Notevilstepmother Fri 22-Jun-18 21:31:37

Possibly, possibility not. See what the assessment finds. There is certainly enough to justify an assessment.

PickAChew Fri 22-Jun-18 21:32:02

He sounds like you need to keep on with the assessment. Eye contact can be a bit of a red herring. Best to have a team of experts look at everything because if he does have ASD, it's best to know before he starts school so you can plan properly and react appropriately to any difficulties encountered.

lucy101101 Fri 22-Jun-18 21:32:34

Honestly he could have it... or he could not.... but presumably someone experienced is concerned enough to want to have him assessed hence it is happening and if there is something up whether ASD or something else (in my opinion) it is better the earlier you find out.