Talk

Advanced search

Have had enough of this friend's digs

(39 Posts)
triggeredbyidiots Sun 03-Jun-18 01:06:29

I am a teacher and I am very proud of what I do. I work very hard and am relatively successful. But I have a friend who is very derogatory about teachers, making the usual digs about too many holidays, those who can't do, teach etc. It's very strange as both her parents work in education.
She thinks people who teach aren't very smart. She also thinks the job is easy, anyone can do it. I know for a fact, she wouldn't last a day at my school.
We've fallen out numerous times over things she's said. Once, a friend was considering retraining as a teacher and she said to her "god you must be desperate"
Aibu to wondering what the bloody hell her problem is? I would never comment on her work or make sweeping statements about her colleagues.
Has anyone got a friend like this or could give me something I could say the next time she makes such comments?

GrandTheftWalrus Sun 03-Jun-18 01:39:29

Fuck off would work.

InkSnail Sun 03-Jun-18 01:42:12

Tell her she doesn't know what she's talking about, and to become a teacher herself if she thinks it's so easy.

TheKarateKitty Sun 03-Jun-18 01:43:59

No, I don’t have a friend that does that because friends don’t act that way.

She’s really got a chip on her shoulder for whatever reason.

If you have to endure her rude comments again, just give her a pointed look and ask, “feel better about yourself now?”

Awwlookatmybabyspider Sun 03-Jun-18 02:12:17

Has anyone else got a friend like this..

No I don't have any friends. I fooked them off for treating me like shit and only getting in touch when they wanted something
I've never looked back. You wont either.

Does she have children. God help their teachers. You can imagine her to be one of those "My child can do as they please" parents, can't you.

PyongyangKipperbang Sun 03-Jun-18 02:13:02