Talk

Advanced search

To have said something to DP?

(46 Posts)
lxzlxz Sun 27-May-18 11:17:50

I've woken up to a rather tense atmosphere and I'm wondering whether I was justified or whether I should have kept my mouth shut.
Yesterday, my partner's family came to our house and then we went to the pub in the afternoon. Partner's family are generally nice people, but they readily take money from DP and haven't returned money they have borrowed from us in the past. DP is extremely generous, but I feel he is silly to continue to offer them money when they don't need it. I am considerably younger than DP and I am a full-time student with a hell of a lot of debt, and although I don't regard money as particularly important, I'm not exactly extravagant with my spending because I don't have much to start with.
To summarise the AIBU bit, we were out yesterday afternoon and we hadn't eaten lunch yet. It was only early, but DP's dad mentioned that he was getting a bit hungry. DP said that they did some nice food there, and I said that we should get some to share. Everyone agreed. About twenty minutes later, I asked if everyone was ready for some food, and they said yes and I went up to the bar to order and pay. I was a bit surprised that no one offered me any money (it was quite expensive), but I figured we'd split it later. DP must have also been aware of this because he mouthed to me that he would give me some money in a bit. The food arrived and everyone started eating, and everything carried on as normal.