Talk

Advanced search

To be annoyed at having to pay for this car to be re-sprayed?

(232 Posts)
emmabrown123 Sun 18-Mar-18 16:39:08

Before I start I'll just say - I know I have to pay for this!! I'm just wondering where I stand about knowing whether I'm being a bit diddled or not!!

My 3 year old son was riding his bike along the pavement and as he came round the corner there was a car (brand new Audi) parked taking up the majority of the pavement. His Dad was behind him and shouted at him to stop, he didn't and subsequently scratched the car, over 2 panels.

We wrote a note explaining the damage, took some pictures and left it at that. The scratch was long but didn't look too deep.

That was about 10 days ago, today we've had a message from the owner saying it's going to a garage tomorrow and may need a full respray of both panels.

My husband thinks that's rubbish and that it could be sorted without respraying, I have no knowledge on the subject.

We will obviously cover the cost, although it bloody irks me because the car was (and always is) parked ridiculously and blocking the pavement for anyone pushing a buggy / in a wheelchair. My question is - is there anything I can do to check that they're not having a respray when they don't need one?! And is there anyway I can lower the cost (prices ranging from a couple of hundred to over a grand have been bandied about) as I'm not sure where we're going to find the money as yet!!!

Or do I just suck it up and find some way to pay it?!!

Whisky2014 Sun 18-Mar-18 16:41:41

Mmm I have scratched my own car panel before and wasn't deep but needed a respray. Think you need to suck it up unfortunately

Nicknacky Sun 18-Mar-18 16:42:09

Suck it up. If it was my car I would be getting it fixed properly and if that was a respray then that’s what I would get.

I would be more annoyed at my husband for letting him get so far ahead he couldn’t stop him if need be.

Does your house insurance cover it?