Talk

Advanced search

Being contacted on my day off

(21 Posts)
Ducktalesooooh Wed 14-Feb-18 10:49:17

I've just had a phone call from a colleague at work regards a document I had worked on for them. This is the third Wednesday in a row I've had a phone call on my day off.

There's nothing I can do, I'm at home with my baby. Someone in the office could have helped if they were desperate.

I'm a senior manager but am I right in thinking it's unreasonable of them to phone me at home on my day off, or should I assume that as a senior manager I am always 'on call'??

OnTheRise Wed 14-Feb-18 10:56:06

They shouldn't need to phone you on your day off. If this is a recurring thing then there's either a lot of disorganisation at your workplace, or the people phoning you are perhaps too lazy or too anxious to sort the problems out for themselves.

You don't have to answer the call when they do.

But if you're senior management then you might need to respond to make sure things are covered.

I'd look at why you've been called on your days off, and see if your staff need better training, or to be given more responsibility, so that they can resolve these issues without you being there.

Ghanagirl Wed 14-Feb-18 10:59:43

I’ve just been called on my day off, had been trying to talk to my manager for two days but she was busy ignoring me as I declined to work an extra day.
So calls me this morning at 9🤔

ElenaBothari Wed 14-Feb-18 11:05:00

It depends on your industry and work expectations really - when I worked in the city it was taken for granted that we were contactable at all times regardless of holiday/illness/non working days. It went with the trrritory.

You can discourage it eg let your colleagues call go to voicemail, then send a brief email suggesting they speak to x instead as this is your non working day and you’re busy. But only you can judge how that will be taken in your workplace.

BadPolicy Wed 14-Feb-18 11:10:19