Talk

Advanced search

Work one .... wise ones?

(15 Posts)
MrsMaxwell Tue 13-Feb-18 21:31:22

Hi - I was given some really good advice regarding work a few weeks ago and I come again to ask for the plethora of advice.

Restructured at work, made to think there was chance of promotion but there wasn’t, most of us slotted in.

I have been moved sideways whereas I was in a stand alone role on a grade above I had no direct line management responsibilities.

When everything comes into place I will have and several colleagues feel aggrieved, that I am not experienced enough and just pissed off (I think more with higher management than with me personally) that there were not more posts like mine (2 in a team of 20).

I have booked myself on all the relevant training for the new role, asked if possible to line manage the new team members rather than existing and have made it clear I intend to perform to the best of my ability.

Thing is two colleagues (who I class as friends hmm ) keep making really snide remarks to me “oh well you are going to have to brush up on that MrsM” etc etc and tbh it’s really beginnng to piss me off (and knock my confidence), and it’s pretty patronising.

I haven’t been promoted, I have been given a different role and if any of them were in my shoes they would have taken the opportunity given - although I get why they feel the way they do as on paper they are more experienced in my new role than I am.

How do I deal with this as I am beginning to not know how to respond.

TIA.

MrsMaxwell Tue 13-Feb-18 21:32:33

Sorry that was so badly written - I will be in direct line management to my colleagues basically.

meredintofpandiculation Tue 13-Feb-18 21:40:44