Talk

Advanced search

To ask what you would have been doing now... in 2002

(264 Posts)
GunslingerPie Sat 10-Feb-18 20:40:02

I’m 18...Saturday night I would now be listening to Blue and DJ Sammy getting ready to go out to the local.
I’m wearing a two-tone halterneck top, leather look trousers (size 8.. sigh) with a tassle belt. Patent wedges and my hair straightened with my Babyliss steam straighteners! Gold eyeshadow like the one Kylie wears in the “On a Night Like This” video...

Necking a bottle of 20/20 and cheap red wine.

I’ll go out with about £8 in my pocket, dance to Fragma and S Club 7, drink loads of crap (free!) thanks to my school friend who works behind the bar then cadge a couple of Regals to smoke on my way homegrin

Unicorndiscoball Sat 10-Feb-18 20:50:30

I was 20 and in my final year at uni. I met now DH in 2002 and we got together 16 years ago next week smile

At this time on a Saturday night I’d have been drinking cheap pre-mixed cocktails with my housemates, listening to Capital fm in every single bedroom in our uni house and shrieking with laughter whilst getting ready to go to the students union and dance the night away in unsuitable shoes, then cheese toasties in our pjs when we got home at 2am. Lots of glittery mascara.

RickOShay Sat 10-Feb-18 20:52:33

Hugely pregnant with dd, on my own, unaware of what was coming grin

GunslingerPie Sat 10-Feb-18 20:53:39

Unicorn was Capital Fm a thing then? I remember it being Galaxy! Might have been a Yorkshire thing though...?

I do remember Atlantic 252 being extremely trendy though!

Anasnake Sat 10-Feb-18 20:55:18

Sleep deprived mum to a 6 month old

InToMyHeart Sat 10-Feb-18 20:55:25

Aged 13 ... Saturday night was Casualty night! Would have been in town with friends during the day. I'd have had a Wimpy for lunch and bought £2 of Millions.

DaisysStew Sat 10-Feb-18 20:55:35

Im 14 chilling with my sister listening to Nirvana, getting stoned and talking about the socialist revolution we were obviously going to lead grin

God I miss her sad

MissCalamity Sat 10-Feb-18 20:55:45

Similar, a couple of years older & a few dress sizes bigger!!
Off out on the cop! grin

kyrenialady Sat 10-Feb-18 20:56:28

20 years old at home with a newborn.

LulusMiniEgg Sat 10-Feb-18 20:57:01

Oh I love this thread!

I was 18 and in my last year of 6th form. I’d probably have gone out last night to the local pub & club or an 18th birthday party so spent today hungover at work (Saturday girl at Monsoon).
Tonight I would have gone round my now ex bf’s house (his parents would be out) and we’d be eating chicken kebabs, drinking red wine and watching Gladiator for the 100th time. That’s all I remember doing with him and we went out for 2 years!

Topaz89 Sat 10-Feb-18 20:57:04

I was 12, probably having a sleepover #956 with my friends grin

HighwayDragon1 Sat 10-Feb-18 20:57:32

I'm 13, texting my friends in bed.

Cuz I'm 2 kool 4 dis

moolady1977 Sat 10-Feb-18 20:58:17

I was heavily pregnant with my dd wondering how much later she would be (I was already 8days overdue), little did I know she would make her appearance the following day. my ds was in his bed listening to classic radio as at 2&1/2 it was the only way he would sleep

Hedgehog80 Sat 10-Feb-18 20:59:09

I was 19 and dd1 was 3 months old. I was so happy and felt so lucky to have her and she was such a good baby

GunslingerPie Sat 10-Feb-18 20:59:46

I literally went everywhere searching for Kylie’s gold eyeshadow... i thought I looked amazinggrin

My patent wedges from Jonathan James were fabulous. As was my outfit from Select.

Bacardi Breezers in the pub (only if someone was buying) and fag burns in my clothes from the dancefloor!

MrsMoastyToasty Sat 10-Feb-18 20:59:50

I would be 36, married but no children. I would be coming back from visiting my DF in hospital as he was dying from cancer.

DSHathawaysLover Sat 10-Feb-18 21:00:17

Gunslinger Atlantic252! That takes me back!

WindyWednesday Sat 10-Feb-18 21:00:29

24years old and house hunting for my first house to buy on my own.

YouWereRight Sat 10-Feb-18 21:00:35

Aged 14. Wandering the streets with my mates. Looking after them when they drank or smoked too much.

LegallyBrunet Sat 10-Feb-18 21:00:44

I'm seven. Me and my four a sleepover at my nana's house. My nana is putting rags in my sisters hair so it curls overnight and she's letting us stay up to watch Casualty as a treat

snapperstickers68 Sat 10-Feb-18 21:01:15

33

Two months after chatting to total stranger online, he found out where I lived and turned up on my doorstep. I went back to his home up north leaving my home, dog, job, ...and boyfriend behind.

I spent the next 7 years in and out of A&E and being punched and kicked to high heaven, bearing two children during that time.

My whole 30s were wasted, apart from a few scenic trips around Yorkshire and my two children I had.

Thankfully my 40s made up for it.

LegallyBrunet Sat 10-Feb-18 21:01:18

Four year old sister that should say

MrsCharlieD Sat 10-Feb-18 21:01:52

I'm 19, living at home between uni semesters. I would be going to gatecrasher wearing a miniscule skirt, furry boots and a sparkly top with glow in the dark make up. I'd take pills and dance my socks off until 5am when we'd get a taxi back to someone's house and come down with weed and films before crashing. I had the best group of friends then, we called ourselves a family. Really miss them.

FarmerSee Sat 10-Feb-18 21:01:55

I'd be 26. I'd just started chatting to a potential love interest. I didn't think it'd go anywhere serious. I was pretty emotionally damaged from an abusive ex and had struggled for the past 3 yrs to get too romantically involved with anyone.

Turns out I would jack in my job, hand the keys to my beloved home, leave my friends and family and move to the other end of the country to be with him permanently. He would become the father of our son. And I'd marry him.

At 26 I was so damaged I could never imagine trusting anyone enough to love, marry or have children. Let alone give up everything and everyone I knew for man. But 2 years later at 28 that's what I did.

Mental. I was fucking mental. Thank fuck it turned out to be worth it!

seasidelife Sat 10-Feb-18 21:02:16

I was 26, omg 26 inch waist, 6 inch heels, clothes that I'll never let my dds wear, working in bars, clubbing as many nights as possible. I had a lot of fun back then, two years before I met my dh. Glad I did it but glad I don't do it anyway more, way too exhausting to even think about lol

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now