Talk

Advanced search

Or is my neighbour?

(44 Posts)
Herculesupatree Sat 10-Feb-18 19:59:28

Fence blew down on Xmas day, broken fenceposts so couldn't put it back up easily.

Really hard to get trades round here to even quote to do work let alone turn up and actually do the job for a reasonable price. I'm in the south east. After being let down by one person finally found someone to come and fix it next week.

Went round to tell neighbour the day and they had a go at me about how long it had been and how inconvenient it's been for them. It's been just under 6 weeks not including the festive period. I don't think that's such long time given the weather and availability of trades to get quotes and arrange someone to come round.

Having said that, I'm fairly new to home ownership so don't know what's expected!

AIBU for it to have taken this long of is my neighbour being a bit U?!

Aquamarine1029 Sat 10-Feb-18 20:00:54

Why has this been such an inconvenience for them?

Bluedoglead Sat 10-Feb-18 20:00:55

If they wanted a fence they could have put one up on their side of the boundary ...

Ragusa Sat 10-Feb-18 20:01:41

Yeah it's definitely them. Who says nothing and then ballaches when it is getting fixed. I am guessing they have a dog. There was nothing to stop them erecting a fence on their side. Smile and nod, smile and nod. Kill them with kindness and avoid them like the plague from now on

Nomorechickens Sat 10-Feb-18 20:06:42

You are being completely reasonable. Neighbour could have discussed it earlier, offered to help find someone to fix it, if it was bothering them. Some people wouldn't bother to fix it at all or would put up wire netting.

Herculesupatree Sat 10-Feb-18 20:09:32

They don't have a dog, I'm not sure why it's been inconvenient to be honest, something to do with walking past the broken fence as they have a path next to it but it's not in their way just not as private as normal...

Ragusa Sat 10-Feb-18 20:11:15