Talk

Advanced search

To ask for your advice/opinion on going back to Uni

(14 Posts)
Nightscroller1 Thu 08-Feb-18 10:55:53

This isn't really an AIBU but I wanted as much input possible, sorry (but thanks for reading!).

I'm 30, just had my first baby and before this surprise was planning university.

I've deferred for a year and can start this August. It's accountancy and finance. I'd graduate when I'm 34.

My job just now is £27,000 a year plus a possible £2,700 bonus.

I realise when I finish this degree I won't be qualified as such but I can't train on the job as that involves a company investing in me (no one wants to sob).

Would you go back to uni or do you think it's pointless and I'd regret it? Any positive 'I went back to uni when I was older stories'

Argeles Thu 08-Feb-18 11:03:17

Would you be at uni part time, and so still able to do some work, or would you be leaving work to do the Degree?

Do you have a Degree already?

I have a Degree and a Postgraduate qualification, but I’m now a sahm and studying part time for a second undergraduate Degree.

I’d paid off all of my student loans from before, yet the utter fuckwits would not allow me to obtain a tuition fee, or maintenance loan, as you’re only allowed to take out these loans once! Fucking bastards! Even though I’ve paid copious amounts of interest and paid it all back within 6 years of graduating.

It now means that I have had to stretch my Degree out over 6 years, and my DH works his arse off in order to pay for the tuition fees. That’s why I want to know if you have a Degree already, as the fuckers won’t lend you a penny if so.

Johnnycomelately1 Thu 08-Feb-18 11:04:23

Have you had feedback that having a degree would increase your chances of sponsorship? Otherwise it's quite an expensive risk.

Nightscroller1 Thu 08-Feb-18 11:07:33

It would be 'full time' but my understanding is that it's 2.5 days a week.