Talk

Advanced search

Aibu ? How do I approach my manager ?

(19 Posts)
Pennypinkhair Wed 24-Jan-18 11:21:09

Sorry that this is long and garbled.
My mum died just over a week ago and I’m devastated. Outwardly I appear alright, but have a few wobbles throughout the day and am really not sleeping well. Sadly as there were a few problems with diagnosis and an emergency operation that she never regained consciousness from, her death has been referred to the coroner and there is to be an inquest. This has resulted in a big delay in the funeral and it will not take place for another 3 weeks.
My problem is that I am fairly new in my post and work 3x 12 hour shifts per week. When I rang my manager to say that my mum had passed away ( on the Friday) I was due to work Saturday and Sunday, but obviously under the circumstances I would not be in and she seemed fine and sympathetic. However she then texted me on the Saturday to see if I was going to work Sunday, but I was in no fit state to do so, but agreed to work my usual shifts that week. I work in the health care sector and during my shifts this week we had 2 deaths that I had to deal with, ( which I did, professionally) but they also affected me badly in private.
We have now received an interim death certificate and can now proceed with the funeral and as I say it is in 3 weeks time. I rang my manager again yesterday, as I won’t see her this week, to let her know the date and to give plenty of notice, as I’m scheduled to work nights the night before and the night of the funeral. Her response to me was, well I suppose you have to go!