Talk

Advanced search

BBC news reports

(7 Posts)
Notmyrealname85 Mon 18-Dec-17 08:36:24

On radio 4 this morning, a reporter said of the embassy worker’s murder in Beirut “do we think this is a politically motivated murder or just a murder and rape”. You could hear as he ended the sentence that he knew he’d messed this up but it really stuck out all morning - that the reporters were so excited to report what could be a political event and forget that someone has lost their life in terrible circumstances, that a person’s rape and murder is ever a “just”

Not sure why I’m posting, just saddened me so much

MadForlt Mon 18-Dec-17 08:41:22

Wow, that's awful. I can see that it was a mistake, but I totally agree with you.

But then I have to do a review, sometimes by video - but when I have to word things carefully I do a written review as it's so easy to say something in a way that comes across in a way that was unintended. But I'm not a professional! Well, not in that field anyway. They don't have that option.

Very sad, I hope none of her friends and family heard it.

ferntwist Mon 18-Dec-17 08:42:06

Horrible turn of phrase. Violence against women is just normal, not of interest or newsworthy it seems. So sad for this young woman and her family.

Youshallnotpass Mon 18-Dec-17 08:44:59

The thing is, the sentence would have made perfect sense if he had ended it at "Do we think that this is a politically motivated murder?".

Stupid phrasing, poor woman.

Notmyrealname85 Mon 18-Dec-17 10:57:38

I see he totally made a mistake and really didn’t mean to phrase it like that, but ultimately it seemed to be what he really meant.