Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to say something?

(13 Posts)
mrseffington Thu 14-Dec-17 00:05:04

OK, so I will try to keep this as succinct as possible.

I've been a manager to someone for a couple of years. This person I got on well with on a work and personal level - we did some social stuff together (outdoor activities rather than social pub type thing). Her work was good, never brilliant but good.

About 6 months ago performance began to drop quite dramatically and i was made aware that on every occasion possible she was playing the smiling assassin and trying to 'get me in trouble' with the boss (the MD) - it was less childish than that but I can't think of another way to describe it! I have a great relationship with MD so I don't have any concerns on that front.

This person had a very high opinion of her capabilities within her role and was visibly miffed when someone half her age was promoted over her. In reality she was in the right job for her ability and experience but constantly made comments about how her abilities were being overlooked. All the right things were done with regards to offering support to gain skills to improve etc but they were always turned down. They resented quite clearly the fact that I was 'in her way' between her and the MD and became very bitter. All the while they continued to be pleasant, friendly, conspiratorial (often trying to lead me in discussing other colleagues) towards me.

Long story short, they handed in their notice and ramped up the disruption in terms of bitchiness behind mine (and everyone else's) back.

They have now gone to work with someone who is a friend of the MD. When the MD questioned her friend about this fact - nothing had been mentioned to her, this former employee of ours has basically said that 'Mrs Effington is pulling the wool over the MD's eyes and is not what she claims to be'