Talk

Advanced search

Can't handle seeing them

(22 Posts)
tootfox Sat 02-Dec-17 13:46:56

I know it's not very festive, but my husbands family are just 🙄!

The adults are rude and the 3 kids are able to just run around and do What they want, and they break things have no respect for anything, we spend lots of money on presents for them and they don't even say thank you, it's so stressful and definitely not enjoyable, this year I'm working from Xmas day till New Year's Day but I have the 23/24 off, I'm a nurse also 6 months pregnant and to be fair I was looking forward to getting out of seeing them, and maybe having a nap ! now they have sort of invited themselves for the days I'm off, they live in a different town to us, I'm just not doing it!! My husband doesn't even want it! So no no no!!!!

Feel bad for my mil, but she can't enjoy any of it either, and now it's all getting passed on to us to have everyone! No thanks!! What do we say? Xx

hesterton Sat 02-Dec-17 13:48:49

You say no, it doesn't suit you but you do appreciate their kind offer. (As if they were doing it to be nice)

Tiptoethr0ughthetulips Sat 02-Dec-17 13:56:16

You say you've got plans already or you're too tired to host or you just want a rest. You just say anything that spells it out and stick to it.

tootfox Sat 02-Dec-17 14:01:52

They've got mil involved and said they will all come to ours (we never see them) so why would they think we would want them, if I have any energy I planned to see friends and relax with my lovely hubby, for the 2 days I have off ! I'm annoyed that we're put in this situation and will look like we're being mean, but they are horrible to us when there here and I have noo fake smiles this year left in me x

Santasbigredbobblehat Sat 02-Dec-17 14:03:51

Say you already have plans, catch up in the New Year blah blah, etc.

gobster Sat 02-Dec-17 14:05:20