Talk

Advanced search

AIBU in my thinking when it's comes to nurseries & 30 free hours?

(22 Posts)
MissMudskipper Thu 30-Nov-17 14:33:14

Okay so I'm new to this whole 30 free hours funded place as it wasn't around when my eldest was young and we had to shell out more than our mortgage to send her each month. Subsequently I went part time working evenings as we could no longer afford it!

My youngest is due at nursery this Jan and having spoken with the nursery they have said they can offer 2.5 days funded place (which runs pretty much with school holidays so she won't be in every week). Great I thought and started dreaming about working during normal office hours again and getting back to normal after 5 years of evening work!

Having spoken with a different department of my work (as can't do days in my current dept) they have said they'd love to have me 3 full days in the week - they would consider 2 but ideally 3.

So I emailed the nursery to ask if there was the option of my daughter going to nursery for 3 full days and we would pay for the additional half day. We would also pay for that half day even when she wasn't in due to the funded place not being there during the school holidays.

So basically they said no and gave me the breakdown below - bear in mind a one half day a week is about £35.

1st Jan 2018 – 31st December 2018 = 52 weeks in total

Normal fee is £123.00 per week = total for 52 weeks £6396.00

Funding available for the year period would be £4514.40

Difference owed = £1881.60

Divided over 12 months = £156.80 per month

AIBU here in my request or is this how all nurseries are ran??

Chaosofcalm Thu 30-Nov-17 14:37:33

It is 30 free hours education not child childcare so it is only for 38 weeks a year, the same as school.

butterflynight Thu 30-Nov-17 14:38:48

I'm confused as to what the question is. Is the fact you have to pay top up fees on the free hours? If so yes that's normal n

MissMudskipper Thu 30-Nov-17 14:40:37