Talk

Advanced search

To dread going out?

(44 Posts)
Stormzy Sat 11-Nov-17 19:14:39

I haven't been out without my DD since July. I'm only 24 and my friends think this is ridiculous, but I'm a single parent and though I have people willing to babysit, it all seems such a faff and I can never really be arsed.

But today I've spent the whole day cleaning and sorting (also painting and singing etc etc) with DD messing stuff up as I go. It is exhausting being a lone parent, and I just wanted to make myself look nice and go out and be me for a night.

I'm studying and I work and I just felt I deserved a night out. I've just found out abusive exP has got a girlfriend. He's in no way a catch and I'm glad I'm not with him but it's made me feel a bit rubbish.

But faff getting her up to her aunties, faff leaving - she cried a lot and I felt horrendous, though I'm getting pictures of her now happy as Larry getting spoilt.

Now I'm home, I'm just drinking wine and I cba to get ready. I feel fat and can't find anything to wear. I know I'm going to feel rubbish tomorrow. I feel guilty not being with my DD. I feel guilty spending money I could be spending on Christmas and things. Feel like cancelling tbh. sad does anyone else get like this? Maybe I'll have a good time when I get out. It's all so much simpler sitting on my sofa on my own!

NoFuckingRoomOnMyBroom Sat 11-Nov-17 19:17:55

Give your head a wobble & get in the bloody shower. Game face on, get out & enjoy your night-yes it's a date but fuck it, your not just a parent & it's fine to have a fun night out.
Do not cancel!

NoFuckingRoomOnMyBroom Sat 11-Nov-17 19:18:54

It's a faff not a fucking date-twatting phone hmm

Justbookedasummmerholiday Sat 11-Nov-17 19:19:28

You have a dd free evening!! I promise you will have a lovely night off!!
Invest time into your friendships! It will pay off, and tomorrow you can have dd back again!!

BrandNewHouse Sat 11-Nov-17 19:20:46

Come on lass. Have a great time