Talk

Advanced search

struggling at work - aibu

(82 Posts)
bluepoppyrose Sat 11-Nov-17 17:00:29

The short version of this is, ive been working as a support worker/care assistant. I have a 2:1 degree from a RG university but this job seemed to suit in terms of hours, little responsibility and work around the children.

Yet i seem to be crap at it and it has really affected my confidence. Although i am kind and caring many of the service users seem to dislike me. They don't like my accent and they make derogatory comments about not wantig inexperienced carers. So sometimes they will shout at me for being early/late but not the other carer.

I find one man gets very angry when i am near and i dont know why.

So aibu to conclude this line of work just does not suit me and bow out now?

LIZS Sat 11-Nov-17 17:03:44

Clients of such services are often vulnerable and unpredictable. It can take a while to build up their trust and confidence in a new carer. Try not to take it personally.

DJBaggySmalls Sat 11-Nov-17 17:04:09

That sounds horrendous. Do you have a supervisor or mentor? Has anyone observed you with your clients and given you any feedback?
How easily can find something else?

bluepoppyrose Sat 11-Nov-17 17:07:27

I do try lizs but it makes me feel resentful to them and so angry and frustrated. Don't really have anyone i can speak to. A lot of care workers like it when the service users take against somebody as i think it makes them feel special.

Polarbearflavour Sat 11-Nov-17 18:30:03

I found the same when nursing on hospital wards, slightly different I know.

Some patients were lovely. Others did not seem to gel with me. I don’t think I’m naturally a person that people warm to. I realise that many have learning disibilities / dementia but personally I did not enjoy being sworn at / left with bruises after every shift.

So I quit.

VladmirsPoutine Sat 11-Nov-17 18:34:28

I have a 2:1 degree from a RG university