Talk

Advanced search

To wonder if holding in your emotions is healthy?

(10 Posts)
SharkiraSharkira Sat 04-Nov-17 23:51:07

I'm an emotional person, I'll admit. I'm definitely a 'cryer'. I can't help myself, my emotions just leak out of me and I'm not good at hiding it.

But lately I have had to, I all honesty, I can't let it out without it all wreaking havoc on my life and fucking everything up. I have nowhere else to go at the moment and no money to change anything right now so I know I have to just keep it together for the time being. How long I'm not sure, it could be months.

Aibu to wonder how long I can keep this up? How long I can keep it in before it really messes with my head?

Wolfiefan Sat 04-Nov-17 23:54:10

You need an outlet. You can't bottle everything up and pretend it's all fine.
That could be a friend to confide in, exercise or a private diary.
You also sound like things are pretty awful. Can you plan to change things? What can you do now to ensure things are better in the future?

Bambamber Sat 04-Nov-17 23:54:53

It is absolutely not healthy to hold it all in. I often do this and it never ends well. It pretty much always ends up in an overly dramatic explosion of emotions and someone else normally gets the brunt of it.

Try writing down how you feel on paper, I feel it really helps without having to unload on other people

LondonGirl83 Sat 04-Nov-17 23:56:58

We have all been there. It's not always convenient to let yourself fall apart or let those affecting us know how we feel.

Try to confide in someone as a way to release some of the emotions and hang in there

Happynow Sat 04-Nov-17 23:57:41

You can hold it in sometimes. Sometimes it's healthy to do that. But long term, I don't think so.

Neverender Sun 05-Nov-17 00:00:41

Not for long, then you have to find another way. Personally, I found running very helpful at very stressful times. I even had dreams I was running before I started!

SharkiraSharkira Sun 05-Nov-17 00:04:04